Tuesday, May 21, 2013

Brittany Woods Inducts 52 Students into the National Junior Honor Society

Fifty-two Brittany Woods Middle School students were inducted into the National Junior Honor Society May 16, 2013. 

Students were selected based on the characteristics of scholarship, citizenship, character, service and leadership. Each student took the following pledge, "I pledge myself to uphold the high purpose of the society to which I have been selected, striving in every way, by word and deed, to make its ideals the ideals of my life."

The new members of Brittany Woods NJHS 

As part of the application process students are required to write two essays. One essay is the nominee's idea for a service project to serve their fellow students. The second essay communicated how the nominee met the five NJHS characteristics. Nominees also had to submit their history of community service and extracurricular activities.

Congratulations to the following honorees: Layla Agha, Louis Barnes, Elijah Ballard, Christy Bell, Logan Black, Kaya Blount, Aireecye Bonner, Givion Crawford, Bella DeArmitt, Cooper Deitzler, Victoria Dickerson, Lauren Green, Andrew Guest, Noah Greenberg, Madison Henderson, Michael Henderson, Rowan Hoel, Andrew Immer, Alona Jenkins, Dariana Johnson, Caitlyn Kirksey, Victoria Little, Thomas Looby, Cecilia Mattli, Kayla Merrill, Jade Merriwether, Jonah Payne, Calin Peterson, Cheyenne Poland, Olivia Pomranka, Sade Price, I’Aiyana Redden, Rebecca Rico, DeAra Robinson, Nashir Robinson, Cabria Shelton, Ben Shostak, Linsey Sparks, Kaylin Taylor, Teagan Thomas, Phoebe Thoroughman, Briton Toth, Dominic Torno, Imani Walker, Jahiem Watson, Zhong Mei Webb, Leanne Whitney, Jessica-Carol Wilbur, Claudia Zegel, Christa Zhang, Peter Zhang  and Leah Zukosky.

Chapter officers for 2012-13 include President Daniel Pomerantz, Vice President Johanna Hill, Secretary Samantha York, Treasurer Torren Brown and Historian Jamie Conners.

Wu Bakeman serves as the NJHS advisor at Brittany Woods.

No comments:

Post a Comment